Indian Polity

Indian Polity is really important subjects for the UPSC Civil Services Exam. Subject of Indian Polity covers the entire constitutional framework and how our political system works. We all Indian citizen must learn and understand the basic philosophy, web, relations between institutions and rapid transformation of Indian political system. Here we are providing basic notes on Indian polity, before that or simultaneously you must go through reference book such as M. Laxmikanth or D. D. Basu

Indian Polity

Part I. Constitutional Framework

  1. Historical Background
  2. Making of the Constitution
  3. Salient Features of the Constitution
  4. Preamble of the Constitution
  5. Union and its Territory
  6. Citizenship
  7. Fundamental Rights
  8. Directive Principles of State Policy
  9. Fundamental Duties
  10. Amendment of the Constitution
  11. Basic Structure of the Constitution

PART II System of Government

  1. Parliamentary System
  2. Federal System
  3. Centre–State Relations
  4. Inter-State Relations

PART III Central Government

  1. President
  2. Vice-President
  3. Prime Minister
  4. Central Council of Ministers
  5. Cabinet Committees
  6. Parliament
  7. Parliamentary Committees
  8. Parliamentary Forums
  9. Supreme Court

PART IV State Government

  1. Governor
  2. Chief Minister
  3. State Council of Ministers
  4. State Legislature
  5. High Court
  6. Subordinate Courts
  7. Special Status of Jammu & Kashmir
  8. Special Provisions for Some States

PART V Local Government

  1. Panchayati Raj
  2. Municipalities

PART VI Union Territories and Special Areas

  1. Union Territories
  2. Scheduled and Tribal Areas

PART VII Constitutional Bodies

  1. Election Commission
  2. Union Public Service Commission
  3. State Public Service Commission
  4. Finance Commission
  5. National Commission for SCs
  6. National Commission for STs
  7. Special Officer for Linguistic Minorities
  8. Comptroller and Auditor General of India
  9. Attorney General of India
  10. Advocate General of the State

PART VIII Non-Constitutional Bodies

  1. Planning Commission
  2. National Development Council
  3. National Human Rights Commission
  4. State Human Rights Commission
  5. Central Information Commission
  6. State Information Commission
  7. Central Vigilance Commission
  8. Central Bureau of Investigation
  9. Lokpal and Lokayuktas

PART IX Other Constitutional Dimensions

  1. Co-operative Societies
  2. Official Language
  3. Public Services
  4. Tribunals
  5. Rights and Liabilities of the Government
  6. Authoritative Text of the Constitution in Hindi Language
  7. Special Provisions Relating to Certain Classes

PART X Political Dynamics

  1. Political Parties
  2. Elections
  3. Electoral Reforms
  4. Anti-Defection Law
  5. Pressure Groups
  6. National Integration
  7. Foreign Policy

Open chat
Hello Dear Aspirant,
Join our whatsapp group here to get Daily Newspapers, Magazines, Monthly, Question Banks and much more..
Just ping us your Name..
See you then..!!!