General Studies II

No-Confidence Motion


The no-confidence motion moved by the Congress against the Bharatiya Janata Party-Jannayak Janta Party coalition government in Haryana has been defeated by 55 votes to 32.

What is No-Confidence Motion

Article 75 of the Constitution says that the council of ministers shall be collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha. It means that the ministry stays in office so long as it enjoys confidence of the majority of the members of the Lok Sabha. In other words, the Lok Sabha can remove the ministry from office by passing a noconfidence motion. The motion needs the support of 50 members to be admitted.

What is the procedure to move a No-Confidence Motion?

Against the Government, a motion of No-Confidence Motion can be introduced only in the Lok Sabha under rule 198.

  • There should be a minimum of 50 members to accept the motion. If not, then the motion fails. Before 10 am, any member may provide written notice.
  • The motion of no-confidence is read by the Speaker within the House and asks all those favouring the motion to rise.
  • If 50 MPS are there in favour then the Speaker could allot a date for discussing the motion. But this has to be done within 10 days.
  • Then, the motion is put to vote and can be conducted through Voice Vote, Division of Votes or other means.
  • If the government loses a confidence motion or if the no-confidence motion is accepted by the majority then the government has to resign.

What are the conditions related to no-confidence motion?

  • It can be moved only in the Lok Sabha or state assembly as the case may be. It cannot be moved in the Rajya Sabha or state legislative council.

The no-confidence motion is moved against the entire Council of Ministers and not individual ministers or private members.

Leave a Reply

Open chat
Hello Dear Aspirant,
Join our whatsapp group here to get Daily Newspapers, Magazines, Monthly, Question Banks and much more..
Just ping us your Name..
See you then..!!!