General Studies IIIInternal Security

‘Helina’ and ‘Dhruvastra’


Joint User Trials for Helina (Army Version) and Dhruvastra (Air Force Version) Missile Systems have been carried out from Advanced Light Helicopter (ALH) platform in desert ranges. The missile systems have been designed and developed indigenously by Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO).

 About Nag Missile

  • The Nag  also called “Prospina” for the land-attack version, is an Indian third-generation, all-weather, fire-and-forget, lock-on after launch, anti-tank guided missile (ATGM)
  • Nag is a third-generation, fire-and-forget, anti-tank guided missile developed by India’s state-owned Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) to support both mechanised infantry and airborne forces of the Indian Army.
  • It is an all weather conditions with day and night capabilities and with a minimum range of 500m and maximum range of 4 km.
  • Nag can be launched from land and air-based platforms. The land version is currently available for integration on the Nag missile carrier (NAMICA)
  • The helicopter-launched configuration, designated as helicopter-launched NAG (HELINA), can be fired from Dhruv advanced light helicopter(ALH) and HAL Rudra (ALH WSI) attack helicopter
  • The Nag has five variants under development:
  •  a land version, for a mast-mounted system; the helicopter-launched Nag (HELINA) also known as Dhruvastra;
  • a “man-portable” version (MPATGM)
  • an air-launched version (which will replace the current imaging infra-red (IIR) to millimetric-wave (mmW) active radar homing seeker
  • and the Nag Missile Carrier (NAMICA) “tank buster”, which is a modified BMP-2 Infantry Fighting Vehicle (IFV)
  • produced under license in India by Ordnance Factory Medak (OFMK).
  • Development of the Nag is part of the Integrated Guided Missile Development Program (IGMDP)

IGMDP (Integrated Guided Missile Development Program)

  • It was conceived by Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam to enable India attain self-sufficiency in the field of missile technology. It was approved by the Government of India in 1983 and completed in March 2012.
  • The 5 missiles (P-A-T-N-A) developed under this program are:

    • Prithvi: Short range surface to surface ballistic missile.
    • Agni: Ballistic missiles with different ranges, i.e. Agni (1,2,3,4,5)
    • Trishul: Short range low level surface to air missile.
    • Nag: 3rd generation anti-tank missile.
    • Akash: Medium range surface to air missile.

Leave a Reply

Open chat
Hello Dear Aspirant,
Join our whatsapp group here to get Daily Newspapers, Magazines, Monthly, Question Banks and much more..
Just ping us your Name..
See you then..!!!