General Studies IIImportant International InstitutionsIndia and Neighborhood

ASEAN Defence Ministers Meeting (ADMM) Plus


 The 8th ASEAN Defence Ministers Meeting (ADMM) Plus on June 16, 2021


  • The ADMM Plus is an annual meeting.
  • It includes Defence Ministers of 10 ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) countries and eight dialogue partner countries – Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, Russia and the United States.
  • Brunei is the Chair of the ADMM Plus forum this year.
  •  India stressed on “peaceful resolutions of disputes through dialogue and adherence to international rules and laws.” 


 The 8th ASEAN Defence Ministers Meeting (ADMM) Plus on June 16, 2021
  1. To benefit ASEAN member countries in building capacity to address shared security challenges, while cognisant of the differing capacities of various ASEAN countries.
  2. To promote mutual trust and confidence between defence establishments through greater dialogue and transparency.
  3. To enhance regional peace and stability through cooperation in defence and security, in view of the transnational security challenges the region faces.
  4. freedom of navigation, over-flight and unimpeded commerce for all in international waters in accordance with the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). “Maritime security challenges are a concern to India.
  5. To facilitate the implementation of the Vientiane Action Programme, which calls for ASEAN to build a peaceful, secure and prosperous ASEAN, and to adopt greater outward-looking external relation strategies with our friends and Dialogue Partners.
  6. To promote economic cooperation, cultural ties and develop strategic relationships with countries in the Indo-Pacific region through continuous engagement at bilateral, regional and multilateral levels. 
  7.  Collective cooperation to fully disrupt terror organisations and their networks; identify the perpetrators and hold them accountable and ensure that strong measures are taken against those who support and finance terrorism and provide sanctuary to terrorists
  8. Under the  COVID-19 challenge “Globally available patent free vaccines, unhindered supply chains and greater global medical capacities are some of the lines of effort that India has suggested for a combined effort


  • The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand,
  • with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration)
  • The Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.
  • Brunei Darussalam then joined on 7 January 1984,
  • Vietnam on 28 July 1995,
  • Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997,
  • Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN.
  • The motto of ASEAN is “One Vision, One Identity, One Community”.
  • 8th August is observed as ASEAN Day.
  • ASEAN Secretariat – Indonesia, Jakarta.

To read more Click here…


Source: PIB




Leave a Reply

Open chat
Hello Dear Aspirant,
Join our whatsapp group here to get Daily Newspapers, Magazines, Monthly, Question Banks and much more..
Just ping us your Name..
See you then..!!!