General Studies IART AND CULTURESchemes


Ministry of Tourism


Recently, the Prime Minister has inaugurated various projects in Somnath, Gujarat under PRASHAD (Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Heritage Augmentation Drive) scheme at a total cost of over Rs 47 crore.

About PRASHAD Scheme:

  • The Government of India launched the PRASHAD scheme in the year 2014-2015 under the Ministry of Tourism.
  • The full form of the PRASHAD scheme is ‘Pilgrimage Rejuvenation And Spiritual Heritage Augmentation Drive’.
  • This scheme focuses on developing and identifying pilgrimage sites across India for enriching the religious tourism experience.
  • It aims to integrate pilgrimage destinations in a prioritised, planned and sustainable manner to provide a complete religious tourism experience. 
  • The growth of domestic tourism hugely depends on pilgrimage tourism. For tapping the potential of pilgrimage tourism, there is a need for holistic development of the selected pilgrimage destinations by the government along with the cooperation of other stakeholders. The PRASAD scheme aims at paving the way for the development and promotion of religious tourism in India.


  • Under it, the Ministry of Tourism provides Central Financial Assistance (CFA) to State Governments for promoting tourism at identified destinations.
  • For components within public funding under this scheme, the Central Government will provide a 100% fund.
  • For improved sustainability of the project, it also seeks to involve Public Private Partnership (PPP) and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) as well.

Objectives of PRASAD Scheme

The objectives of the PRASAD scheme are as follows:

  • Harness pilgrimage tourism for its multiplier and direct effect on employment generation and economic development. 
  • Follow pro-poor tourism concept and community-based development in the development of the pilgrimage destinations.
  • Leveraging public expertise and capital.
  • Enhance tourist attractiveness sustainably by developing world-class infrastructure in religious destinations.
  • Create awareness amongst the local communities about the importance of tourism for them in terms of improved living standards, increase in sources of income and overall development of the area.
  • Promote local culture, arts, cuisine, handicrafts, etc., to generate livelihood in the identified places. 

Functioning of PRASAD Scheme

The Ministry of Tourism has set up a Mission Directorate for implementing the PRASAD scheme. The Mission Directorate identifies projects in the identified cities and coordinates with the states/UTs and other stakeholders to implement this scheme.

A Central Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee is set up for sanctioning of the projects submitted by the Mission Directorate. A National Steering Committee is also constituted for the overall review, guidance and monitoring of this scheme. 

The Central Government provides 100% funding for the project components undertaken for public funding. This scheme seeks to leverage the voluntary funding available for Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) and the Public-Private Partnership (PPP) for improved sustainability of the projects under this scheme.

Eligible Components Under PRASAD Scheme

The eligible project components for receiving the Central Financial Assistance under the scheme are as follows: 

  • Infrastructure Development which includes-
    • Development of passenger terminals such as rail, road, air and water transport.
    • Tourism information/interpretation centres with ATMs or money exchange counters.
    • Wayside amenities with emergency vehicle repair, breakdown and refuelling facilities.
    • Directional/informatory signage. 
    • General improvements such as landscaping, earth filling, water fountains, lighting, fencing, pavements, garbage bins, seating/shelters, drinking water points, etc.
    • External infrastructures such as sewerage, water supply, drainage, electricity and roads.
    • Restoration, illumination and conservation of historic structures and monuments.
    • First aid centres, toilet facility, waiting areas and cloak-rooms.
    • Improvement in communication through telephone booths, mobile services, internet connectivity and Wi-Fi hotspots.
  • Capacity Development, Skill Development and Knowledge Management which include-
    • Short duration skill development and training program under ‘Hunar Se Rozgar Tak’ and ‘Earn While You Learn’ programmes.
    • Broadbasing of travel and hospitality education and training and engagement of Vocational Training Providers.
    • Emphasis on tapping the local potential and expertise in arts and crafts.
    • Documentation and preservation of the knowledge base in tourism for future use.
  • Online Presence which includes-
    • GIS-based interactive and intelligent portal development and mobile applications.
    • Project management system.
    • Permission-based knowledge portal.
    • Data analysis and reporting.

The inadmissible project component for under the scheme that is not eligible to receive assistance are as follows: 

  • Land acquisition for development.
  • Resettlement and rehabilitation package, operation, maintenance and management of the assets created.
  • Improvement or investments in assets or structures owned by private entities. 

Nagara or North Indian Temple Style:

  • In North India it is common for an entire temple to be built on a stone platform with steps leading up to it. Further, unlike in South India it does not usually have elaborate boundary walls or gateways.
    • While the earliest temples had just one tower, or shikhara, later temples had several. The garbhagriha is always located directly under the tallest tower.
    • There are many subdivisions of nagara temples depending on the shape of the shikhara.
    • There are different names for the various parts of the temple in different parts of India.
      • The most common name for the simple shikhara which is square at the base and whose walls curve or slope inward to a point on top is called the ‘latina’ or the rekha-prasada type of shikara.
      • The second major type of architectural form in the nagara order is the phamsana, which tends to be broader and shorter than latina ones.
      • The third main sub-type of the nagara building is generally called the valabhi type. These are rectangular buildings with a roof that rises into a vaulted chamber.


Sompura Salats (Temple Architects)

  • About:
    • The Sompuras (or Sompura Salat) are a group of people who took up artistic and masonry works as an occupation and branched off from the Sompura Brahmin community.
    • They are a section of Sompura Brahmin or Prabhas Patan which was once called Somapura because it was supposed to have been founded by Chandra (the Moon God).
      • However, Sompura Brahmins do not accept them as proper Brahmins.
    • They maintain the clan as a strict rule for marriage.
  • Origin:
    • The Sompuras originally hailed from Patna, Gujarat, and were invited to settle in Chittorgarh.
  • Work:
    • During the past five centuries, they have been involved in the construction and restoration of numerous Jain temples in Gujarat and southern Rajasthan, as well as temples built by Jains from regions in other parts of India.
    • Though traditions in the family call for elders to pass the learnings of the Shilpa Shastras and the art of ancient temple architecture to the next generation, the modern age calls for certain upgrades to that technique.
    • Ram janm Bhumi Temple is also designed by the Sompura Family.

Source: PIB



Leave a Reply

Open chat
Hello Dear Aspirant,
Join our whatsapp group here to get Daily Newspapers, Magazines, Monthly, Question Banks and much more..
Just ping us your Name..
See you then..!!!